Our History

Timeline of AMRE & the Adelaide Model Railway Show.

1981First Adelaide Model Railway Show, organised by Trevor Searle at Alden Manor, Glenelg. The show was held bi-annually.
1983Adelaide Model Railway Show held at Regency Park.
1985Adelaide Model Railway Show held at St Clair Recreation Centre, Woodville.
1986With encouragement from Trevor Searle, the Adelaide Model Railway Exhibition Inc was formed by six model railway clubs: Adelaide Model Rail Roaders Inc, Classic Train Collectors, Mt. Barker, Märklin, SANGS and SARMA, to take over the organisation and running of all future Adelaide Model Railway Shows.
1987 – 1989Adelaide Model Railway Show held at the No. 1 shed, Port Adelaide.
1991 – 1997Adelaide Model Railway Show held at the Wayville showgrounds, in Hamilton Hall.
1993South Australian Protofour Group joined AMRE, bringing the membership up to seven clubs.
1998Interim show held at Immanuel College, Novar Gardens.
1999 – 2024Adelaide Model Railway Show moved to Greyhound Park, Angle Park. The show became an annual event.